icon-home Deansgate, 62-70 Tettenhall Road, Tettenhall, Wolverhampton, WV1 4TH

icon-phone (01902) 827808  icon-envelope info@lewispsy.org.uk


Bereavement services in Wolverhampton



Grief is a normal reaction to the death of a partner, parent, lover, friend, child, relation or colleague in many differing circumstances. The death may have been caused by illness, accident, suicide, murder or natural causes.

There is no right way of coping with a death; people respond to a loss in their own individual way. The way a person responds is partly dependent on their relationship with the deceased, but it also depends on their own personality and upbringing.

Everyone’s experience of grief is unique although there are a number of stages that the bereaved person may go through, which include:

1. Denial – “I feel fine.”; “This can’t be happening, not to me.”

2. Anger – “Why me? It’s not fair!”; “How can this happen to me?”; “Who is to blame?”

3. Bargaining – “Just let him live to see the children graduate.”; “I’ll do anything for a few more years with her.”

4. Depression – “Why bother with anything?”; “What’s the point?”; “I miss my loved one, why go on?”

5. Acceptance – “Life goes on”, “I can rebuild my life”.

The final stage of grief, acceptance, is when you realize that life has to go on. You may still have thoughts of your loved one, but less intense and less frequent. You regain your energy and goals for the future.

These stages of grief may vary according to circumstances, such as the age of the person who has died and the manner of their death (sudden or expected). Grief, although normal, can manifest itself differently in people. Some people move through all stages and others can get stuck at one stage, in such cases counselling and psychotherapycan be especially beneficial.

Do not try to rush the process; there is no specific timeline for grief.

Bereavement counselling and psychotherapy

Talking about the loss in counselling or psychotherapy is usually helpful and allows a person to adjust to their life without the deceased. Therapy can help mourning by allowing someone to work through the stages of grief in a supported relationship. Counselling and psychotherapy can help in the following ways:

  • Talking about the loss
  • Identifying and expressing feelings related to the loss (anger, guilt, anxiety, helplessness, sadness).
  • Living without the deceased and making decisions alone
  • Identifying ways of coping
  • Understanding the grieving process
  • Accepting the loss
  • Finding the courage to continue

Eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR)

Eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR) is a psychotherapeutic procedure that was developed by Francine Shapiro to resolve the development of trauma-related memories caused by exposure to distressing events. EMDR may be helpful to resolve a complicated grief process such as that caused by a traumatic or sudden death.


Make an appointment

If you would like to arrange an appointment, make a referral or require further information about how we can help please telephone our Wolverhampton practice on: 01902 827808.  Alternatively fill out our online contact form.

We are open seven days a week. 

For further details of our pricing structure please visit our fees page. 


Medical disclaimer: The information included on this site is for educational purposes only. It is not intended nor implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice by a qualified doctor.